HOP ON THE SPIRAL BITCH!


Q&A / HOOD BY AIR
February 19, 2009, 4:05 am
Filed under: FASHION | Tags: , , , , , ,

hood2_new1. What motivates you?
That we can improve our world by turning it on its head. Its good to stir thought and feeling even if its purely social and visual. I cant wait till this is no longer perceived as cliche in New York.
2. Who/what are your greatest inspirations?
The streets. I love the sensibility of evoking tension while being some what graceful. I find that the esthetic of the streets gives this off well. Street dressing can be really intimidating and quite powerful but when  broken down its truly basic and relaxed. I think this sensibility is found in one of my other huge inspirations, dancing.
3. How did the name come about?
It was made to be more of a statement went it was first conceptualized. I wanted a name that sounded active…physically and mentally. I picked the  “name”  for that same reason.

hood1
4. What are you working on now?
The next show, the next look… finding time to work on more art oriented design(which will be showcased soon) and a namesake label.
5. If you could choose to work with someone, anyone, who would it be and why?
I never really think of stuff like this so i don’t  know if i could answer it. For Hood by Air, I think something that has a grip on some sort of sport technology, like Nike. I have great respect for their quality and sense of creating esthetic(s). I would die if i could get my hands on some technology like that. Just imagine, the official Hood by Air Nike wedges and sweat suit to match…

hoodbyair.com


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

