HOP ON THE SPIRAL BITCH!


San Francisco Special: Matt Palladino
October 7, 2008, 12:25 am
Filed under: ART, design | Tags: , , , , , , ,

I’ve been off the spiral for about a month, and now I’m back from a new location: San Francisco. It’s no New York, but the weather is great, the people are friendly, and I start to get a little weepy when I am standing (just blocks away from my apartment) on a cliff overlooking the Bay at sunset. No biggie. And while it’s not New York, there are some pretty radical art schools in the city which makes for a thriving art scene–oh yeah, and those hippy-types sometimes make a contribution as well.

Intrepid-reporter-of-all-things-cool that I am, I came across this SF artist, Matt Palladino. He’s 22 years old and making some of the coolest shit I’ve seen in a long time. I’ve said it before, but I love painting and I love artists today that still paint instead of masturbating on posterboard using linseed oil as lube–and does this gentleman ever paint (but he might also do the latter…probably).

Executed in a folk style, with a masterly attention to composition, his work evokes Eastern Indian miniatures and early American provincial artists, but he juxtaposes this faux-naive aesthetic with graphic, sexually and politically charged images. I like that he doesn’t look like he’s fresh out of Yale Painting (not to player-hate!), and has his own super sophisticated and unique perspective. And we love super sophistication and unique perspective, don’t we? More San Francisco stuff to come! HALEY

Bedsheet Struggle 3

Bedsheet Struggle 3

Lesbian Jail Wedding

Lesbian Jail Wedding


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

